Beside a Mirror

Seated beside a mirror, I found myself

with messy hair, lips smudged with lipstick and rose tea

seated, ever seated.

Sip some drink.

Write some lines.

Who cares, who cares?

Wonders to confusion,

affection to detachment,

and wishes to death wishes! 

I found, in that world within myself and my other self,

that little girl beside me, also seated, also seated.

She was giggling, watching, and goodness!  Naked.

She was truer than I ever was,

and cooler than I think I am,

and damn more beautiful than me with my messy hair! 

Slam my head against that mirror.

Break it! Break it! 

Or I shall break my neck. 

Leave a Reply

